Hand-tossed Pizza Crust

I went over the recipe I use for hand-tossed pizza crust here, but I have worked out the technique a bit, so I thought I’d share my tips.  I found a tutorial online  (look for the “tossing tips”) that really helped me get going with the whole pizza tossing technique, and now I toss all my pizza doughs.  I’m still not an expert, but I get consistently roundish pizzas (I actually make them oblong so they fit better on my parchment paper), and I can usually get them the thickness I like pretty well.  Here’s what I do:  after dividing the dough into 6 pieces and letting it rest for 10 minutes, I work with one piece at a time and press it into a disc shape.  Because the act of tossing the dough automatically makes the edges of the crust thicker than the center, I make sure that I leave the middle thicker than the edges as I flatten the rounds:

Then I follow the guidelines in the tutorial and toss each disc into the air.  I tend to get into the whole process, getting my knees into the program and keeping a close eye on the dough (because I hate when it lands on the floor or the sink because I wasn’t paying attention).

Sometimes the dough gets really pretty and manta ray-like in its motion in the air. 

After I toss one piece, I put it on a piece of parchment paper and stretch it a bit more.  It’s important to hold the stretch as you’re arranging your dough.  If you stretch and let go of it right away, it will just go back to its original shape.  So you need to stretch, wait for the dough to relax, and then set it down.  I then proceed with poking the dough with a fork, brushing with olive oil, and parbaking for 2 minutes each.  As one piece is parbaking, I can usually toss the next piece so that there’s little delay between baking times.  I tend to get into a sort of zen baking state as I’m processing my pizza dough, and I love looking forward to the creative toppings we’re going to use!

2 Comments

  1. June 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    […] on the counter and tossing the dough, shape each of your dough rounds into a flattened pizza shape (more detailed instructions here).  Prick the dough in several paces with a dinner […]

  2. August 31, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    […] on the counter and tossing the dough, shape each of your dough rounds into a flattened pizza shape (more detailed instructions here).  Prick the dough in several places with a dinner […]


Leave a Reply

