Weekend in Review: January 29th-31st

Although I feel like it’s been forever since I posted, we did actually stick to our plan; it’s just that we weren’t scheduled to do any new posts until yesterday.  So our schedule is off by a day, which makes sense when I look back on it. 

Dinner with John and Virginia on Friday night was delightful: we shared a lovely meal at McCormick and Schmick’s Harborside where I loved the Seafood and Corn Chowder (I am a sucker for chowder) and the Lobster Ravioli, as well as a large glass of A by Acacia Chardonnay.   The company was even better than the food, and we’ve resolved to make sure we can get together more often this year! 

As great as Friday was, Saturday was absolutely amazing!  it started with coffee at the Mandolin Cafe, for some dear friends’ baby’s “first trip to the Mandolin” (a totally appropriate 2-week-old event no one should miss).  Then some uneventful shopping (trying to find an appropriate outfit for the evening).  We enjoyed lunch with my sister, her husband, and several friends at Tacos Guaymas.  I do love the food there, and here’s my guilty pleasure:  I almost always order their huge nachos, with the sour cream and guacamole on the side specifically so I can put the leftovers in the oven for lunch the next day.  Although the chips never regain their original crispiness, I’ve come to love the “nacho casserole” that this creates.  Then once the nachos are reheated, I just add the sour cream and guacamole and eat the whole thing with a fork.  definitely not as healthy as the CSA meals we make at home, but it’s something else I do love!  I had to finish my shopping in a friend’s closet, since the stores were not cooperating with me, but I did feel lovely once I got ready for the evening. 

Finally: I was excited when I found out that Ira Glass was going to be in Tacoma, and even more excited to find out the event was going to be at the Pantages.  Even better, they had a meet-and-greet opportunity before the show itself.  I cannot remember being so nervous for anything in my life; I was terribly afraid I was destined to make a fool of myself in front of one of the only celebrities (at least he’s “geek sexy” as I hear someone refer to him on Saturday) I really respect.  My friend ran interference for me, and kept the conversation going when I was to nervous to speak.  It was wonderful!  We handed Ira a hand-written invitation to see the sights of Tacoma after the show, but he didn’t get a chance to read it until he was already in his car, headed for the airport. 

After the show, we enjoyed Ira’s talk and then waited near the stage door for him to come out so the people we were there with could get autographs and photos as well.  It was literally a dream come true for me, since Ira Glass has been my “radio friend” for years, and as someone in the audience said during the Q&A period, it always seems like he’s talking just too me (and of course, to my office mate that listens to the streaming audio with me).  I do hope we managed to stay on the “charming” side of “crazed fanatic,” but I honestly do not know if we were able to keep it together enough or not.  One of the dangers of being “radio friends” is that only one side even knows a friendship exists at all…
After the show, Trav and I went with a friend to our local version of The Rock

, where I enjoyed sharing the Wild Child pizza – with mozzarella, bleu cheese, sautéed spinach, marinated mushrooms and whole oven roasted garlic cloves, how can you go wrong?

  

Sunday involved a day at work, with leftovers from our various meals out filling out my weekend food (yes, I did have that pizza, cold out of the fridge, for breakfast – yet another guilty pleasure). 

If you’re thinking to yourself that this post has nothing to do with eating at home, or using our CSA, or any of the other things this blog is supposed to be about, you’re absolutely correct.  We enjoyed so much good food on our weekend of restaurants, I thought it would be good to share those as well.  After all, it’s not that often that we splurge and go out anymore (and especially not for every meal in a weekend)!  So I figured that our recommendations on where to get good eats when we do go out sort of fit the theme.  Besides, I really wanted to post our photo with Ira Glass… 

If you have a great place you love to go when it’s time to eat out, please feel free to leave it in the comments.  It could be a guilty pleasure like I listed above (I mean really, do you have anything more disturbing than Nacho Casserole?), or something more in-line with the ideals of the blog (like Ravishing Radish, the caterer Trav & I used for our wedding – I highly recommend them)!
 

  

 

 

Leave a Reply

