Extenuating Circumstances

So I know that I’ve severely fallen down on the blog the last week. I do have something a little more than the run-of-the-mill excuse. On Saturday, while Travis & I were at ballet rehearsal, our home was burglarized. Travis came home in time to scare them off before they got away with too much – an X-Box 360, almost all of Trav’s games, and the cordless drill.

The burglars gathered up several other electronics – the laptop, the digital camera, and they’d begun to unplug the cords for the television. Apparently, when Trav pulled up to directly in front of the TV Room window, they just grabbed what they could and ran.

The police officer that responded asked if we could leave the laptop untouched all weekend, so the forensics team could fingerprint it today.

So in addition to the feelings of violation, anger, and helplessness, I also didn’t have access to the blog except via my iphone. I did contemplate updating the blog on my phone, but there are some things that a three-inch screen just isn’t great at.

We’ll get back on track shortly, and get back to menu planning as well. We definitely left the plan far behind starting on Saturday; when we talked to my parents about what happened, they invited us to their house for dinner.

Then after work yesterday, I told Trav I really just wanted comfort food. So he picked up Mexican take-out for me and Vietnamese take-out for himself (we each have our own comfort foods). We really don’t want to fall off the roll we’ve been on – it’s so much healthier, cheaper, homier – dare I say better? – to prepare local food at home than to pick up take-out all the time. We’ve been doing really well since about mid-summer, and we’re going to have to work to get back in the habit now that we’ve slipped. But we’ll get there!

2 Comments

  1. December 7, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    […] the trauma on Saturday, I wasn’t up to cleaning the kitchen this weekend.  What with the busy schedule we had this […]

  2. September 11, 2010 at 8:36 am

    […] the trauma on Saturday, I wasn’t up to cleaning the kitchen this weekend.  What with the busy schedule we had this […]


Leave a Reply

