Monday: Turnip Gratin

Here’s my inspiration (as usual, found at Epicurious), as well as my personal editing (I’m taking out these parts of the published recipe, and adding in these parts), based on what I actually have on hand:

Turnip Gratin

Gourmet  | October 2007

Holly Smith

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 1/2 pounds medium turnips, trimmed and left unpeeled
  • 1 tablespoon chopped dried thyme
  • 1/2 tablespoon chopped savory
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • Rounded 1/8 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano (use a Microplane the small side of your box grater)
  • Equipment: an adjustable-blade slicer

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 450°F with rack in middle.

Melt butter in an ovenproof 12-inch heavy skillet, then cool.

Slice turnips paper-thin with slicer knife, then arrange one third of slices, overlapping tightly, in skillet, keeping remaining slices covered with dampened paper towels. Sprinkle with about a third of thyme, savory, kosher salt, and cayenne. Make 2 more layers.

Cook, covered, over medium heat until underside is browned, about 10 minutes. Add cream and cook, covered, until center is tender, 20 to 25 minutes.

Sprinkle evenly with cheese, then bake, uncovered, until golden and bubbling, 10 to 15 minutes. Let stand 5 minutes before serving.

The Verdict:

It’s official: I don’t like turnips.  Travis pointed out that turnips are one of the classic “dislike” vegetables from childhood, but I actually like all the others (broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, brussel sprouts, asparagus, etc).  My mother used to complain about the fact that all three of us ate our veggies, since that meant there was less for the adults (reverse psychology, anyone?).  So it was actually surprising to me to find out that I don’t like turnips.  I haven’t totally closed the door, but if cream and cheese and butter don’t make me like them, what will?

I would honestly love anything you can suggest – at this point, I’ve all but given up.

1 Comment

  1. Heather said,

    January 26, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Turnips are gross. There’s no hope. I can eat them mashed into potatoes, but only if the turnip to potato ratio is heavy on ptoatoes. They just taste icky.


Leave a Reply

