Thursday: Alton Brown’s Squash Soup

Here’s my inspiration (this time found at The Food Network), as well as my personal editing (I’m taking out these parts of the published recipe, and adding in these parts), based on what I actually have on hand:

Squash Soup

Recipe courtesy Alton Brown; Show: Good Eats; Episode: Squash Court

Ingredients:

  • 6 cups (about 2 large squash) seeded 2-inch wide chunks butternut squash
  • Melted butter, for brushing
  • 1 tablespoon kosher salt, plus 1 teaspoon
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground white pepper, plus 1/2 teaspoon
  • 3 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 4 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon minced ginger
  • 4 ounces heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Brush the flesh of the squash with a little butter and season with 1 tablespoon salt and 1 teaspoon freshly ground white pepper. On a sheet pan lay the squash flesh side up. Roast for about 30 to 35 minutes or until the flesh is nice and soft.
  3. Scoop the flesh from the skin into a pot and add the stock, honey, and ginger. Bring to a simmer and puree using a stick blender. Stir in the heavy cream and return to a low simmer. Season with salt, pepper, and nutmeg.

The Verdict:

As I admited to Travis as I tasted the soup, I’m actually not that big a butternut squash soup girl.  I love soups (don’t get me wrong), but there are many ways for butternut to be done poorly.  And then there’s the unpleasant issue of that carton of chalky orange liquid that was sold at the grocery store during my vegetarian years.  However, I’ve found it important to try foods I previously thought I didn’t like, once I can make them with quality, fresh ingredients at home.  This was one of the cases where I was proven correct.  Trav actually put the meal toghether while I was teaching ballet, and he said that the squash took approximately three times what the recipe said.  The soup was smooth and tasty, with a good blend of spices and herbs.  It did seem a bit labor-intensive and made just one bowl each, so I’m not sure we’ll replicate it.  Especially since the Joy of Cooking has this sausage and apple butternut squash that we might try if there’s another one in our share this week…

Leave a Reply

