Delicata Squash and Roasted Mushrooms with Thyme

Here’s my inspiration (as usual, found at Epicurious), as well as my personal editing (I’m taking out these parts of the published recipe, and adding in these parts), based on what I actually have on hand:

Delicata Squash and Roasted Mushrooms with Thyme

Gourmet  | November 2004

yield: Makes 6 servings (as part of main course)
active time: 25 min
total time: 1 hr

Ingredients:

  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thymerosemary
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon thyme
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 1/2 lb delicata squash (3 medium), halved lengthwise, seeded, and cut crosswise into 1/2-inch-wide slices
  • 2 1/2 lb mixed fresh mushrooms such as cremini, shiitake, and oyster, trimmed (stems discarded if using shiitakes) and halved (quartered if large)

Preparation:

Stir together oil, thyme, rosemary, salt, and pepper. Toss squash with 2 tablespoons thyme oil in a shallow baking pan (1/2 to 1 inch deep) and arrange in 1 layer. Toss mushrooms with remaining 1/4 cup thyme oil in another shallow baking pan (1/2 to 1 inch deep) and arrange in 1 layer. Roast squash and mushrooms, stirring occasionally and switching position of pans halfway through roasting, until vegetables are tender and liquid mushrooms give off is evaporated, 25 to 30 minutes.

Cooks’ note: Squash can be sliced 1 day ahead and chilled in a sealed plastic bag.

This was delicious.  The squash is a bit sweet, and the mushrooms decidedly savory.  Although both items were a bit on the squishy side (I’m not sure we’ve known each other long enough to get into my texture issues yet), I enjoyed them quite a bit.  I didn’t finish my squash, but Travis did, so that’s a good sign!

At the same time Trav was making the squash and mushrooms, I was in the middle of preserving other foods we had in hand.  I love Mexian Rice (to an admitedly psychotic extent).  We had some tomatoes that were about to go bad, and we had onions (which is the begining of my favorite recipe).  So I pureed up the tomatoes and onions and forze them in my favorite method (muffin tin).  We had some leftover cilantro and jalapenos also, and some leftover chicken broth.  All of the above got processed in the Cuisinart and frozen in the muffin tins except the jalapenos – no one needs 1/2 cup of frozen processed jalapenos!  The jalapenos I froze in our spare ice cube tray, instead.

It felt so good to be so productive – cooking and preserving all in the same day!

Leave a Reply

